alpine0000

Anybody know the release date for Panasonic SD5 cameras?

I've seen the literature on Panasonics site for the cameras, and seen a few sites that have said "summer of 2009", but has anybody heard anything more precise about the release date of Panasonic's SD5 cameras?

Specifically, I'm interested in the WV-CW504 cameras that are taking the current 484 dome's place.

Internet searches seem to turn up nothing but pictures.

bump to top

i figure eventually somebody will know the release date, as panasonic said it was going to be sometime this summer i've been holding off on buying new cameras for almost 2 months now because of this! haha.

this is what ive found so far, which compares the current 484 dome with the new 504 dome.

i'm liking what i see so far! i also wonder what the pricing will be on these. Hopefully itll be the same as the current 484 domes.

sd5.jpg

The word from Pano is "soon"... and that could me a month or more...

I saw the demo unit and we did some tests... SD5 is better than SD3... Price points from what I understood could be slightly higher or may even be the same.. it all depends what Pano decides at the end. From what I understand is that they are selling these new technology system in Japan already.

My (fairly well connected) rep recently told me mid-August..... We'll see... It looked really good at ISC, and the 484 style housing is a treat to use compared to many others. I'm hoping to get one soon! As far as pricing, our rep said "about $100 too much" ...Ugh.

My (fairly well connected) rep recently told me mid-August..... We'll see... It looked really good at ISC, and the 484 style housing is a treat to use compared to many others. I'm hoping to get one soon! As far as pricing, our rep said "about $100 too much" ...Ugh.

I like the 484 housings as well; they're battleship-tough.