SecureVision

PC based DVR vs. Standalone DVR – Pros & Cons.

Hi there. I’m not sure if this is the correct message board to ask this question, but I guess it can be categorized as generic discussion.

I am a network administrator and do some consulting when I have spare time. I’ve been dealing with IP Cameras for little jobs (Axis, D-Link, etc...). And have a few clients that are very interested in “realâ€

This would actually belong in the DVR thread, but my opinion follows:

Stand alone DVR pros:

1. Ease of setup

2. COST, you can get a 16 channel with remote, audio, etc for 675.00

3. Little post sale support

4. Quality, you can get better real world recording out of the 720x480 in my opinion.

Cons:

1. Advanced features such as email on motion

2. no http server

3. no dynamic IP support

4. Remote software sucks.

You can do burners no, ad HDDs,

There you have it.

Just my opinion.

Thank you for the info.

In this case, would you have a dvr card manufacturer in mind that’s very stable and has nice/user friendly features and if it’s reasonably priced it’s always a plus. Thnx...

Actually the Kalatel Storesafe all-in-one DVR does all of the below, see my notes:

1. Ease of setup - YES

2. COST, you can get a 16 channel with remote, audio, etc for 675.00

MUCH MORE THAN THAT - LIKE $4000+

3. Little post sale support - PLENTY OF SUPPORT BOTH WAYS

4. Quality, you can get better real world recording out of the 720x480 in my opinion. - YES

1. Advanced features such as email on motion - YES, Email Notification is built in, on alarm

2. no http server - YES -Http Server is built into it for browser access

3. no dynamic IP support - YES - dynamic IP is supported

4. Remote software sucks. - NO - Software is better than most PC based

You can do burners no - YES - CDRW built in - or DVRRW on your PC using remote software

ad HDDs, - NO - this is my only problem with them, besides the high cost

Rory

Simply put!!