code58

No video, but camera leds are on?

Hi

Im new to installing CCTV and so, but today i went to a client, with a problem that one camera does not show video, i went to the camera, removed it, installed that camera on another point, and the camera works. Camera is about 2.5m away from PSU.

So i told the client i wil come back to him, and went to a totally new client, witch also had the same problem. This camera is about 7m away from psu.

Here is the problem with both cameras.

The camera dont show video, but the LED's are shining red, meaning they are on...

The power cables does work, tested...

Could it be the video cable? i mean, same problem happening on the same time at two diferent clients on the same day. lol!

Here is a link to the exact cameras im using, one is smaller at the other client. but still the same.

[mod edit - store link removed]

What am i missing?

did you measure the voltage? you cant just go by seeing the red light on as being ok. since you are using cameras w/ LEDs, they use slightly more power.

do you have the cameras going individual power supplies or a power supply box?

did you try another camera in the "bad" location? if so did it work? if not then its either the power or somewhere in the cable.

you can also try swapping the location behind the dvr to determine if its DVR related (bad port)

What i found was the power supply can change between 12v, 14v, 16v, so what i did was because there are 3 cams, i changed the PSU from 12v up to 14v, and it worked, bud only for a few min,

There are 3 cameras connected to the PSU, i know now for a fact that it is not the video cable, because i was just there and somehow got it working, but now when i went to the computer, it was dead again, all video i get is black, but a bit on the right side is white noze, like a stripe comming down.

If i connect only that one camera, still the same problem.

If i connect the other two cameras, they work.