jrmymllr

Amusing price difference

I'm fairly new to security stuff and am just doing this for my house. Anyway I ran across something that might not be so surprising to most regulars here, but I thought it was shocking.

I was looking at a sale paper and noticed they had a 4 channel DVR4-2500 Swann DVR for US$450. I wondered how it compared to my Q-see QSDR04RTC I got for $150. So I started checking it out.

First, several sources were selling the Swann for $450 so that confirms the price. I get on Swann's website and looked at the photos and downloaded the manual. The rear jack arrangement is identical to mine except it has one extra USB port, probably to make up for the lack of the one on front of the Q-see.

The specs are identical.

The user interface is identical.

The remote PC app is identical, even with the same name ("D9 Viewer")

The only real difference is the Swann has a 500GB instead of 320, and the Swann comes with 4 RCA-to-BNC adapters. All this for $300 more. Or more like $240 if you don't get the super deal on the Q-See.

I don't find it surprising this hardware is shared between multiple brands. What I find surprising is the price difference!

The Swann, does however, have a much better users manual, but that's a free download

I don't find it surprising this hardware is shared between multiple brands. What I find surprising is the price difference!

How's the support on either? Can you call and get a live tech 25/7 with the Swann? How about with the Q-See? Things like that commonly account for such price differences - it's easy to charge less when you don't have anything in place to back it up.

The Swann, does however, have a much better users manual, but that's a free download

Well, you know what they say about user manuals: documentation is like sex - when it's good, it's really good, but when it's bad, it's still better than nothing.