Aszbaz

n00b, how to set up a CCTV system?

Hi there, I mentioned in an introductory post I am interested in setting up a company installing digital CCTV systems and need some guidance - Stumbled upon this forum via Google.

Originally I was intending on using USB pinhole cameras with active extension cables and plugging them into a PC, using some soft of software to record each cam, however this seems very messy and unprofessional and I simply cant find any software which would support this.

What I need is to be able to install wired cameras without drilling (Clipping the wire into walls would be okay) and to have them recording 24/7 on a PC or some sort of digital recorder. The cost needs to be minimal - No more than £250 for the cost of the PC, cameras and materials (around 4- 5 cameras, most likely less). Im an IT technician by trade, so buying stable computer systems is not an issue, nor is installing large hard drives, for example, however like I mentioned I have no idea when it comes to cameras, software and installation.

Any help would be much appreciated and given back to the community when possible!!

Kindest regards,

Aszbaz

I can't imagine putting together just a decent new PC for that price, let alone the cameras and software. If you're using a Windows-based software, the Windows license alone will eat up half that budget. At that point, you won't be able to include any but the cheapest junk cameras.

That may sound harsh, but if you're getting into the business, you might as well get off on the right foot: first thing you need to do is adjust your expectations.

The EASIEST way to maintain a single-wire system is to use IP cameras, a PoE switch to power them, and some NVR software. A number of IP camera brands include their own basic NVR software for free. And since Cat5e is available in a wide range of colors, if you insist on surface-running the wire, you can at least try to match it to the decor.