cab938

Holistic thoughts on realistic residential system

Hi,

I'm planning out a simple home system for myself after a couple of neighborhood annoyances. I've got a couple of gaps in my knowledge I'm hoping people can fill in for me. First, my background is that I understand video compression/image recognition/etc. and have developed some non-security solutions for video capture from things like BT787 chipsets which are pretty common in security cctv solutions, as well as a working knowledge of things like mjpeg, h264 compression factors, etc. I also have a little bit of a (hobbiest) background in optics; fov, hdr, etc. What I don't have is practical experience with the security products (this forum has been great, props btw).

My requirements are pretty simple and probably similar to others, except I've come to love quality and want to make my buck stretch as far as I can. Understanding the tradeoffs is important to me, I'm not really expecting a "just go buy this" (though I'll take it if you have it!).

Problems:

- I want to monitor my front yard fairly inconspicuously with relatively decent quality. Don't think I need license plates, but I would like to be able to ID the person at the door.

- I want to be able to expand later into monitoring my backyard, but that's not part of phase 1. This mostly comes into play when considering if I need a DVR/etc.

- I don't want to write any custom software; I have no idea if I should just buy a dvr or a card and run some software. Windows or linux solutions would be fine, but I'd like something that can do motion detection (image comparison based is fine, I don't need real motion detectors) and start recording then. I don't need 24x7 monitoring. I'd love to have remote access, or be able to fire scripts off of detected events. I just want it to be easy; the geek in me wants to hack away but the soon-to-be dad in me wants to keep it real.