simard

Whats The Longest RG59 Run (18/2) I Can Get To Power Cameras

Hello All,

I Have A General Question, I Have Been Doing CCTV Installs For The Past 3 Years & The Most Of My Jobs Has Been Delis, Bars, Laundrymats, Auto Repair Shops, Pharmacy, & Houses,....Which Each Camera Run Has Been Between 25FT - 150FT, So The Use Of Video Baluns Has Been Slim, I Mainly Use 12v 6Amp Power Supply Adaptors With Either A 4-Way or 8-Way Splitter With Premade BNC/Power Wires... I Have To Do A 16 Camera Where EACH Camera Run Will Be Between 350FT-450FT (to be safe), My Question is: Im Going To Be Using RG59 (18/2) Spools Of 1000FT (so I Can Cut To Length Per Camera), I will Be Using The Standard 12v 420TVL 24LED Vandal Domes. Being The Cable Runs From Each Camera Will Be Between 350FT-450FT, Do I Need To Use A 12v Adjustable Power Supply Turned Up To About 14v To Compensate For The Voltage Drop From The Long Cable Runs & Will The Video From The Cameras Still Be Clear?

Thanks In Advance

This is the perfect chance for you to try out Cat5 and baluns. Regarding your power supply situation. I would look at the overall plan and see if you can create 4 'power zones' each one ideally feeding four cameras, That way you can use a number of PSUs sited centrally within each zone,one for each zone and distribute the power over a shorter distance. Racking up the voltage to compensate for distance is never a great idea with DC voltage, as you can damage cameras that way.

Se what solutions others can suggest.

You can do the same with your cat5, for each zone, run 4 bnc patch leads to a 4 way passive or powered balun to a second balun located next to your PSU for that zone and from there you can run coax a shorter distance. Hope that makes sense to you.

By the way, there is no degradation when using Cat5 cable and appropriate baluns ( powered or passive). Some will say the image is better and there may be some truth in that but I can't support that with technical facts as I do't know.