Louie

Should I get megabit or gigabit POE switch? -16 Arecont Cams

I would like to know what the best POE switch is when using 16 Arecont cams. I need live viewing and remote viewing to be as fluid as possible. So I'm thinking it has a lot to do with the POE switch. The cameras very in MP's from 1MP to 10MP. Using an exacqvision server - IPS6000R2. Thanks, Louie

For that many cameras, I'd definitely recommend a gigabit switch.

However, your remote viewing speed will be limited by your internet connection speed, which will typically be far below even 10Mbit, and the switch you use will have no effect on that.

What if I would drop in a dedicated internet line and have the server be the only device plugged into it. So in getting a gigabit switch, how is that going to help my cameras or server? I though by getting a gigabit switch it was going to speed up everything? Sorry I'm really new to IP Cams. Appreciate the reply. Louie

A gigabit switch will let cameras and server communicate efficiently - a 10/100 switch would probably choke on the total load of those cameras.

Your internet connection itself, though, will be very limited in bandwidth unless you have BIG money to spend on it. We once priced a dedicated 100Mbit connection for a customer who wanted to set up for offsite recording... it was going to be on the order of several hundred dollars *per month*.

A typical residential or small-business broadband connection, at $40-$60/month, won't usually give you more than 10Mbit of upstream (ie. from your system, outward), which would be enough to view one or two cameras smoothly, but no more.

When viewing Exacq remotely over typical DSL-speed connections, I've found that the most fluid framerates are achieved by using the web-based interface, which lets you use lower resolution images, allowing a higher framerate with a given amount of bandwidth (image quality will be lower, or framerate will be lower - pick one).