salesguy

Dahua Testing & model reviews

Hi all, first post here. I am relatively new to the security camera scene but have been reading the various forums & review sites and decided to dive in for both home security & to learn more about the technology first hand. I'm a software and network professional so the technology has come naturally.

I am familiar with the overt shilling of various brands & services some here do, either directly or indirectly. I have no business interest in this endeavor and am only interested from a home security standpoint.

I recently took delivery of the following models of Dahua cameras from a Chinese distributor:

IPC-HFW3300C (3MP)

IPC-HDBW3300 (3MP)

IPC-HDB3200C (2MP - 2.8mm & 3.6mm)

IPC-HFW2100 (1.3MP - 3.6 & 8mm)

IPC-HD2100 (1.3MP 3.6 & 6mm)

So far I have hooked up & turned on most of these models and confirmed video and normal function. I was able to access the UI and see video using firefox on ubuntu 12.04, which is contradictory to what I was expecting given that these use active-x controls, but hey, it worked fine using firefox. Live video was displayed in the UI windows and I could easily make changes to settings and see the changes.

I also was able to setup each camera in zoneminder with no issues, the settings below are what you need if you are using zoneminder.

I plan on writing up a detailed review of most of these cameras including comparisons to the Vivotek FD8136 and Axis M3202 cameras I have on hand today.

My initial thoughts on the products:

-Excellent build quality and fit/finish. Seals and materials feel good. All models have solid metal housings and put many $200+ camera builds to shame

-UI is easy to navigate but has the expected chinglish

-Wiring dongles are solid looking, and the 3MP models have the reset buttons on the dongle. The cheaper mini-bullet has reset on the case as was mentioned here previously.