scottl31

WiFi or Wired? + General

Hi,

I was sent from another of the forums here.

I'm trying to learn this from zero because my boss wants me to figure out a good system to install in our office that will notify him of an event on his iPhone and then be able to have a 2-way conversation with the "intruder".

Any recommendations as to cameras, systems, PC or NVR, etc. would be welcome.

Anyway, I was wondering if you guys even consider using wifi cameras at all, or do you just always go wired for reliability?

Thanks,

Scott

I have little experience other than trying to get a Foscam wireless camera to work. Even though it was only one room and two walls away from the router it would not keep a connection and was not a reliable method plus wireless is always a security issue on top of the dropout problems. I don't intend to ever try wireless again for an application where I want to be insured of a constant connection.

I suppose there are other cameras that would work wirelessly better than the Foscam, but then you still have the security issue.

Indoors I use wireless as long as you get a decent brand camera that has a decent radio and you don't try and push distances. I use mine 5' from the WiFi router, not sure I would stretch to much more than that. To do what he wants, AVTech push series comes to mind. The AVN812 or AVN813 will be WiFi and have alerts that go to his smartphone (Blackberry, Android and yes, even IOS) and immediately play back the event that triggered the alert. You can also view the camera live and 2-way audio support. See my reviews on these cameras. The only problem is they don't have a U.S. presense so they are hard to find, but try eBay.

Hi .. Only problem with the avtech is the wireless in a office environment , You will have problems with wireless printers and other equipment.

Plus audio to talk to intruder .......with the avtech he will see it once heard and just put it in his pocket along with your footage.