AGM

How to extend a CAT 5 cable?

Good day!

I am quite new to CCTV but i already installed 3 camera at home using RG59 w/ power cable with the distance of 90, 85, 72 meters. my problem is that i want to add another camera but the distance is 320 meters. i search some in the internet and they said CAT 5 cable is good for long distance but my problem is there is no 320 meters for sale only 300 meters is the maximum available. How can i extend the CAT 5 cable? or what is better to extend to reach the 320 meters? the cat 5 or RG59? What should i use?

Thank you and more power.

Your not going IP cameras so you don't need the cat 5 to stay twisted the entire length. Just splice a new piece to

the end of the old and make sure you use the proper baluns.

if i splice the wire will that affect the video feed? or should i use a CAT5 RJ45 Network Cable Extender Plug Coupler Joiner? which is better? Thanks

it shouldn't be a problem, if your running an IP camera or a computer using ethernet, than you want the cat5 to remain

twisted the entire length, but just video shouldn't be an issue. Luckily, if the image is not up to par, you can go back

to the splice and connect two cat 5 jacks on each end of the wire and connect them with a patch cable and see if it helps. If the image is perfect by just splicing it as I mentioned, than call it a day, go home, kiss your wife and kids and

enjoy life.

Good day sir!

i just measure the length of the site i wish to install the CCTV camera and it was not 320 meters it reach almost 500 meters. what should i do? do i need to buy 2 roll of CAT 5 cable and splice them or should i use RJ45 Network Cable Extender Plug Coupler Joiner to extend it. any suggestion/recommendations.

Thank you.

wow, the n00bs abound. so much bad advice here.