cah027

Help newb plan HD system for home

Hello.. I found this site as I begin my research for a security cam system for my home. I found a few other forums but this one seems to be the most active and full of knowledgeable people. I have only dabbled a little with cheap ip cams over the years and I have been disappointed. I know its because I bought cheap junk, but now I am ready to put together a "big boy" system. I really don't know what I am doing so I must admit I am a total newbie.

I have a 2 story house on a small lot. I think I would like to have a HD dvr system with 8 ch. I would like a few outdoor cams and a few indoor. One in particular indoor cam that will need to be hidden and small (spycam) this is for a secure room that I rarely get into. I would want motion alerts for this room and motion activation for recording. I am not worried about false alarms for this cam as it will only be accessed by me or a thief. I would like to access the cams from the internet. I would also like to have stills to auto upload to an ftp or offsite storage in case the dvr is discovered. I would like to spend $2000 or less and do the install myself.

Not sure if its possible to make the outdoor cams less noticeable either?

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Not sure how "cheap" the cameras that you were working with before that were "junk" but $2000 for 8 cams some of which are outdoor doesnt seem too far off from cheap. Not to mention the cost of the the wiring, switch and NVR.

Not sure how "cheap" the cameras that you were working with before that were "junk" but $2000 for 8 cams some of which are outdoor doesnt seem too far off from cheap. Not to mention the cost of the the wiring, switch and NVR.

Thanks for the reply.. I just had a $140 dlink and a cheap made in china foscam clone. So thats how cheap I've been so far. I am a super novice when it comes to this stuff