f13dfx

3 ACTi E32s were working fine 3months until....need help!

Hello All! I installed my own outdoor surveillance system in July 2013. Everything was working fine until it started to get colder. Mainly, it's the camera in the front driveway with the longest run of 100'. In Blue Iris this camera started & continued with several no signal alerts in the night-time. When there was video the fps varied from 0.60-5.00fps. I have dialed back the CBR to 128k for a resolution of 2048x1536 @5fps. I've done this to the other 2 cameras as well. I'm still a novice at this, so I figure that by doing this, there is less bandwidth clogging up the system. I also turned the front driveway camera to the DAY setting since I have 3 street lights that keep the area bright all night, thus keeping the IR LED's off, thinking that maybe this exceeds the maximum PoE port power of 15.4watts put out by my Zyxel switch (but I'm not really sure that this is the reason for the very low fps & signal losses).

Here is my system:

- 3 brand new ACTi E32 cameras

- 1 brand new Zyxel ES1100-8p unmanaged PoE switch

- dedicated Zotac SD-ID12 Plus 1.8ghz D525 Intel Atom dual-core mini-pc w/2gb memory, 250gb hard drive w/Win7 64bit

- Blue Iris latest software

Any explanation as to why this is occurring & advice towards improving the video in my front driveway camera would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Someone else complained about this with BlueIris and ACTi cameras, maybe part of a new maintenance updates. Try a different program, like ACTi NVR 3 which is free, just to see if it works better. Here's the link - http://www.acti.com/product/detail/Video_Management_System/NVR_V3

Pretty easy to install and setup. The only weird thing is that by default, the schedule is set to record full time so you need to go into schedule, change it to event recording only, that is if you want event recording. You set the motion detect windows and sensitivity in the camera.