old

HikvisionDS-2CD2132-I poor image quality of attempted burglr

Okay, I'm still a noob around here. I really need some help. My Hikvision DS-2CD2132-I captured an image of someone banging loudly on the side of my house, or on a window, at 3:00am. I think he was trying to break in. Crazy banging; I though it was just a drunk at the front door, but this is different. I had just upgraded the synology drivers for my camera and this allowed me to set the recording to 1080p. Despite this, I cannot even see the person's face despite that fact that my motion detection light triggered and lit up his face. I got three separate videos of him. One of him out front on the sidewalk where he looks right into the camera, about 25' away. His face is lit up my my porch light. I got another capture where he enters the property, and another of him exiting. Here's an example of how poor my video feed is:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4Xy614LITgtaHViS1NFV3p3N2s/edit?usp=sharing

He's walking about 15' from the camera. The lens is a 2.8mm lens. I have a 4mm Hikvision DS-2CD2032-I that I can put in this camera's place.

Anyone have any suggestions for how to improve the video quality? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Image quality on that video looks great. I wouldn't say "poor image quality", but more like poor camera placement.

I can only see one video, and not three.

oh okay. Well here's one where the perp is looking directly at the camera, lit up by my motion light:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4Xy614LITgtQ1BrdWJFbzZCdzQ/edit?usp=sharing

My friend is coming over tomorrow to help me install a previously planned camera addition on that side yard. Sorry, I'm new at this. Does anyone have some advice for camera placement, like put a 4mm hick bullet above the front door aimed at the street, and another under the soffit above the side yard, aimed toward the street?