Sign in to follow this  
cayocrazy

Howdy!

Hi everyone,

Ian here, and a total newbie to the CCTV scene. Looking to install a surveillance system for my home here in Orlando, FL. I have to apologize right off the bat for my lack of knowledge when it comes to this stuff. Please bear with me. I've been looking around your forums for a couple weeks now, and I have to say that I really dig how helpful everyone is to one another. It's a refreshing thing to see in this crazy mixed-up world.

I'm looking to spend less than $1500 (less than $1000 if I can get away with it) on a complete system. Here's what I'm looking for...

1) High Def - need to be able to see faces

2) IP or HD SDI - I don't really know which to go with. Maybe a little enlightenment? Can i get HD in analog to make things cheaper?

3) 8 camera minimum - hopefully something expandable

4) Remote viewing from cell phone or another computer (seems to be standard these days from what I can tell)

5) I have some areas that the cabling will need to reach around 150-200ft.

Thanks in advance for any help you all can provide. With that said, I'm off to go learn a bit more about all this stuff.

Cheers!

1. As to conventional analog cameras, say VGA, D1, and WD1(960H), TV signal (NTSC, PAL) is being used for transmitting/ receiving its captured video data over coax cable. But there is no fixed standard yet for trans/receiving such a large amount of HD video data in real time. HD-in analog may mean to HD-CVI type from Daihua. I understand Hikvision is also launching its own communication technology. It would take a while for the CCTV industry to get one standard, HD-in analog. Currently, they over-state that it could go up to 500 meter. But I do not buy that, as I tested it and failed with a rather cheap 200 meter cable which is being used for the conventional analog cameras. They may need a high quality special pure copper cable.