tmoguy

Need help on camera placement...

I am a capable installer but the camera options and placement have me overwhelmed. My objective to begin with is to provide good video in the front yard. Then down the road add to the back yard. Based on the attached drawing I am open to any suggestions on camera type and placement.

I want to add a DVR card to my home pc. Would like the option of adding cameras at a later date. Would like dome cameras because of their less than obvious look. Not against bullets either but I would like night time visability. Not worried about seeing freckles on faces but would at least like to tell which dog pooped in my yard.

The cedars are approximately 2' below the eave.

Also, if the front yard can be coverred with one camera I can get a good one. But if it requires two then I will have to sacrifice some quality for quantity. Price for cameras in the $200.00 dollar range and DVR card I think I have seen around 200.00.

Are there any pros or cons on using baluns? I like the idea of just running 1 cat5 to the camera.

40097_1.jpg

Thanks for your help,

Steve

Baluns add to the overall cost. I'd use RG-59 siames (video & power)

Camera's? I like the EX9100 from CCTV imports. Has IR, filter, and highres. good camera with all the basics that work well.

Camera locations? you are on the right track. Just make sure you take the suns movement into the mix BEFORE you mount.

Baluns add to the overall cost. I'd use RG-59 siames (video & power)

Camera's? I like the EX9100 from CCTV imports. Has IR, filter, and highres. good camera with all the basics that work well.

Camera locations? you are on the right track. Just make sure you take the suns movement into the mix BEFORE you mount.

How about a link to that camera? I did a Google and was not able to find anything.

Thanks!

I found the camera.

[edit by mod-sorry no links from websites that sell at dealer pricing]

Can anyone provide some sample images from this camera?