rdagger

Synology Surveillance Station Lessons Learned

I’ve been tinkering with surveillance video for 20 years. In that time, I’ve never had a system that has left me completely satisfied and the Synology Surveillance Station 7.1 is no exception. Currently I’m running 4 Axis M5014 720P PTZ mini dome cameras on a Synology RS814+ (Intel Atom Dual Core 2.13GHz 2GB RAM).

First the good:

1. I have no problems motion recording 720P on all cameras with 30 fps variable bitrate at the highest image quality setting using H.264.

2. The Axis cameras were auto recognized, all the features are supported and almost completely configurable from the Surveillance Station web interface.

3. Internet browser support seems good (IE, FF, Chrome).

4. The Synology supports P2P so you don’t have to open any ports on your firewall. This is a big plus for me. I find that many companies that sell security products tend to have no clue about network security.

5. The mobile apps (iphone & android) work well if you have good Wi-Fi (not so good on celluar). I have 100mbps symmetrical fiber for my Internet service.

6. The optional VS240HD allows me to add a monitor and configure the system anywhere I have a network jack. There are 2 HDMI outputs. One shows the cameras and control inputs. The other just shows the cameras.

7. I have the 2nd output of the VS240HD connected to a ZeeVee modulator so I can view the cameras on channel 98 on every TV.

8. The user interface is easy and intuitive.

9. The Synology box automatically updates and sends me email warnings if there are any issues. It also sends monthly email reports on the health of each hard drive and the general security of the system.

10. Synology continues to update and improve their product.

The Bad: