Sign in to follow this  
asharon

General advice regarding surveillance needed

Hello everyone,

I have a need to monitor a number of employees in a warehouse using video surveillance cameras that will be located in a warehouse within the UK, but the monitoring will be done remotely from a different country by the parent company. The whole setup needs to be done by myself personally as we had a situation wherein a security contractor actually caused more harm on purpose (bribed by ex-employee who was fired for stealing).

I'm an IT support guy by trade and generally have a decent understanding of networking and hardware however I've never dealt with situations like these and my knowledge of the video surveillance game is non-existent. I'm hoping that one of you guys or girls can help me by pointing me in the right direction, my requirements from the system are as follows:

- Several cameras positioned around the perimeter, they don't need to be concealed or hidden.

- Ability to record footage and store it for at least 7 days (this may change to 31 days).

- Ability to access live-feed of each camera remotely from a different country.

- Decent-ish resolution, say something along the lines of 720p, black & white is fine.

- Ability to move cameras remotely would be great, but not essential at all.

I suppose that these cameras would be somehow connected to a NAS and store the footage there, I also assume that they would come with software that would make the remote viewing easier. But I just don't know which cameras to go for, where to buy them, pricing etc. Any sort of advice would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks in advance!

Hi. Doing the install yourself also gives you the knowledge to service and keep your system going.

Being in the uk you do need at least 21 to 31 days storage so I would also start from there.