intelli-home

How do you match a camera to a DVR?

Hello, I'm new to the CCTV world as my business is mainly alarm systems and automation. More and more customers are asking for CCTV.

I've been reading this forum for about two weeks now. I am completely saturated with information from all you very knowledgable and sharing people - Thank You.

I've read about a DVR being a limiting factor as in terms of picture quality. I have already purchasred a DVR. My question is... I'm ready to purchase some cameras and my budget is decent but at what camera resolution is the max I should go for before my DVR becomes the limiting factor? I will be viewing from a LCD also.

The DVR I purchased is...

Power Telecomm Inc.

PDVR-8300

PENTAPLEX 8 CH MPEG4 STANDALONE DVR

PDVR-8300 is the most advanced MPEG4 stand-alone 8-channel DVR

developed for all industrial applications. In addition to its smooth

professional design, it is very reliable and cost effective. Most of all, its

small recording file size and powerful remote control function with high

speed transmission over network will become the standard to which other

security systems are judged.

Major features include:

120 fps live, 120 fps recording/playback

PENTAPLEX : simultaneous Live, Recording, Playback, Backup, Network

Small recording file size using MPEG4 Video and G.723 audio technology

Adjustable recording frame rate for each channel

Video backup directly to AVI format for easy viewing

High speed network transmission with full screen and each camera modes

Dynamic / Static IP address support and Client / Web Browser support

Supports Pocket PC for remote viewing

Remote recording, still image capturing and printing via network

Multiple DVR and multiple client support

PTZ camera control by RS-485 and via network

Independent color adjustment for each camera input and VGA output

Mouse and IR remote control unit for user interface

Self-diagnosis system: error checking and restoring functions