Here2BeBad

Looking for some recommendations...

I just want to start off by saying that I've been viewing the site for a few weeks and it seems like the place to be for CCTV information. I registered today and this is the first post... so be nice..!

To start off I'm a Enterprise Computer/Network consultant so I'm pretty abreast of the computer side of things. My questions are more around the Camera, cabling recommendations.

The system I'm designing is for Home use only to monitor the front & back of the house. For now just a two camera setup would work fine with the intent of expanding to other cameras at a later time. The movement around the back back of the house is minimal. The movement at the front of the house is also light (i.e. a car going up the street now and then, people walking the dogs, etc..) i recently had some people swimming in my pool while I was away as well as some kids tamporing with my car in the driveway.

The system is a PC based system using a GV-800-8 DVR card. I would like to hear some recommendations for a good quality Day/night outdoor camera as well as the cables. I see that some people have the seperate power supplies, while other have the "combo" type of cable with the power built in. Also, since I have not purchased the GV-800 card yet, if anyone could recommend a place that sells them cheap that would be great too.

Thank you for having me on the site and I look forward to speaking with you...

Rick

camera recommendations....search the forum and read more. many camera to buy and try. you need to understand the specs and the crapy sales techniques out there BEFORE you go shoping. also ask to see a live demo of the camera.

GV pricing? search and you will find

power......siamese with 95% braided solid core is the best RG cable and POE via CAT5. powering at the camera only required if distance becomes a power issue.

powersupply..get a PTC type, auto- reseting fuses