RhysG

4 Cameras To PC - System Design Help Please

Hi, I'm new to this whole concept personally and was looking into this particular package (which gives the ability to add 4 cameras, record to HDD, send snapshots, audio files, live playback etc to mobiles/security companies etc (which will soon become available in Australia if I understand correctly).

However, I'm stuck on the logistical element of the setup:

What is the ideal range of cameras to use?

Wireless/wired?

If wired, how do I rout the cables properly?

Can the wires be routed to a wireless point, and then transmitted to PC?

Given it's on 2.4 GHz band, will this just cause too much interference?

Do I just need a Wireless card and Capture card, not a wireless router?

Your help and experience is needed and appreciated.

Cheers,

Rhys

I held back from answering you as I am not in your country.

My advice is to avoid using wireless. At least on the cheap end. To do it right is very expensive. I use wireless as a solution provider to a problem, but I prefer run wires when I can.

I do not know the construction of your building. I am used to the buildings here in the USA that use drywall, and they have attics where I can run my wires.

I have never done a brick building so I could not give advice there.

The Ideal range of cameras? Use the most expensive that you can afford.

You can use a more expensive camera for the very most important spot, and you can save a little on the spot that may not require as much importance.

For instance. On a 16 camera system in a bar, I want the best camera at the front door, and the back door, and where ever they count the money.

I can use really cheap stuff where the pool tables are, and I can use mid priced stuff elsewhere. If it has to be really cheap I have even use 1 inch by 1 inch mini cameras attached to the support of the false ceilings.

Spend as much as you can. You may not need it now, but there will come a day that you wished you had.