markmarg215

Best?: Panasonic WJ-HD316A, DM "New"DS2, Sanyo DSR

I will get one of these for a client.

I'm fairly new to Security DVR's.

Need 16 channels, RS232 for Home Automation interface (Crestron), Internet viewing requiring NO propietary viewer software, easy operation for homeowner, etc.

Price range up to $4500.00

Any opinions on which one you would get (and why) would be very much appreciated.

Panasonic WJ-HD316A OR DM "New"DS2 OR Sanyo DSR-3716

Thanks

Mark

I think that particular Panasonic unit records only in cif.... you would want the new version the one with the letter T in it. Have you seen the sanyo unit ? isnt that the Tiger, if so its preety good. Not to mention the fact that pano's dvr's are anything but user friendly.

My WD-HD 316 recording resolution is:

Frame High Res 30ips

Field 60ips

SIF 120ips

The Panasonic has many features making it seem difficult. Personally, I don’t think it’s all that hard. And, I don’t do this every day. Plus, the quality is fare superior to anything I've used before.

Just my opinion.

panasonics dvr is extremely easy to use. Especially thru the webclient. I mean it does not get much easier than that. I would highly recommend you try the software thru the web client.

http://66.149.117.147/

username: wjhd316a

password: password

we usually dont even have to train the end users who use the webclient. Its pretty self explanitory. If you want to view recorded video you click the hdd tab. If you want to control a camera click the camera tab. if you want to view mult cams click the multi button. its real easy.

I think that particular Panasonic unit records only in cif.... you would want the new version the one with the letter T in it. Have you seen the sanyo unit ? isnt that the Tiger, if so its preety good. Not to mention the fact that pano's dvr's are anything but user friendly.

I could not agree more on the Pano's none easy programming features...