replanet

Camera selection?

I'm seting up a cctv system on my warehouse before the alarm system. So far I have a geovision 800 16 cam card on a dedicated pc. I have 3 Sanyo VCC-3972 with rainbow lenses one 2.8 and two 8 mm. I would like to add 5 more cameras

Sanyo specs

VCC-3972 12VDC 1/3" Hi Res

• Vivid resolution 470 TV lines • High sensitivity, 2 lux at f1.2 lens • Power supply 12V DC (included) • Internal sync/external sync, PLL 2:1 interlace • Backlight compensation and electronic iris • S-video output • CS/C-mount type (adapter included) • Lens optional

The sanyo cameras are great in the day, but see nothing at night. My budget is around $300 per camera with lens. I have the outdoor enclosures already so that is not a problem. Since I'm a rookie and make mistakes in placements and lenses I would prefer a 3.8 to 8 mm varifocal lens, it would give me more flexibility and i'm more interested in overall picture more than person recognition.

The main purpose of the cameras is to catch employee theft more than outside theft or vandalism. Since I recognize my employees easier than I would a stranger facial recognition is not needed. I need two more for inside the warehouse and 3 for the outside. I would prefer day/night cameras, but would consider getting 3 of them B/W to achieve the budget needed. Of the 3 B/W I would place one indoor and 2 outdoor. The warehous is pitch black at night the outside is light by post lights, but not enough for my color cameras.

thanks

Can you set up some motion triggered lights in the warehouse (like "Home Depot type" typically used in the front of one's house... like on the driveway)? Off by day, motion triggered by night (all kind of automatic you know?)