dtdoak

Advice on the right outdoor camera

I'm very new to CCTV and need some advice.

I'm in the process of analyzing what I need to build a simple residential surveillance system. I already purchased the GeoVision GV-800, which seems work great. I need advice on purchasing 3 cameras. I already purchased a cheap camera, which I’m returning so I need some help. Here are my requirements for 3 outdoor cameras.

1- Budget per camera $200-350.

2- All cameras need to be small and somewhat inconspicuous, meaning dark shell casing. Like the look of dome armor cameras since they blend-in with the outside of my home and are small.

3- All cameras must be able to function down to 10F.

4- All cameras must be able to show a decent image in total darkness.

5- One camera must be able to see in darkness 50-70 feet.

6- Two cameras must be able to see in darkness 20-30 feet.

7- One camera has a run of about 400-450 feet. Should I use cat5e with baluns or rg6 coax?

8- The other two cameras have a run of about 75-125 feet.

Any help is tremendously appreciated.

I have a very similar setup and my requirements were very close to yours. I am also running a Geovision GV-800 card. The camera's that used are a mix of Mace CAM53CIR and CAM68CIR. The CAM53CIR is a bullet type camera that is fairly small and provides a great picture night and day. The night time distance of the IR's on the CAM53CIR camera is good but best for short distances (20 - 30ft). I installed the CAM68CIR for a very large area I have in the back of the house. The IR illumination on the CAM68CIR is really great and very bright (40 - 60+ ft). To back the cameras up that are in the back of the house I also installed security lights that are motion activated. The way the camera's can do their job in total darkness but should something trigger the motion of the security lights the cameras get an even better shot of the incident.