r0bb0

Closing our monitoring centre and hiring an offshore company

Our company is going through a bit of a downturn and looking to cut costs where we can. One area we are considering is closing our cctv monitoring room which employs 3 people around the clock, and then hiring a team abroad to take over. They are offering the same service at half the price. Whilst it makes economic sense we are a bit divided on pushing forward.

Have any members had any experience with outsourcing their monotoring? Any pitfalls/advantages?

Any advice or recommendations would be highly appreciated.

I have never done this before but a few obvious problems come to mind.

First- one of the reasons this country is in the mess it is due in no small part to outsourcing. A simple question is regardless of the business you are in- what would the effect be if your customers ( whether individuals or businesses) had their livelihood outsourced?

How well would your business do if your customers income was either directly or indirectly shipped overseas where they could no longer afford to use your business?

Granted you are only talking three guys but this is why the country is in trouble because this scenario has played out millions of times over the last few decades. Eventually you could get to a point where all the income that used to stay in this country and used to buy other American businesses products and services will be in China and India so who are American businesses going to sell to?

If Americans no longer have the money because it is now going overseas then who is going to be left to do business with an American company?

Also, one problem with Message Boards is you can read "what" a person says but not "how" they said it. My comment was in no way meant to be snippy or condescending. I am in business as well and things aren't real great for us either. But we are now feeling the direct consequences of outsourcing.