Traken

AVC760 Network drops

Well it seems im stuck, im pretty new to the cctv surveillance but I have a couple of customers that want something cheap so I thought I would try one out and see if I can grsp it. Well I jumped into an avc760, got 2 cameras and 150' cables, my picture isnt exactly great but from what i've seen that can be cable length. Got the harddrive installed, the network up and ftp'ing off site. Got the beeping to stop, all seems fine.

But now twice, one day apart my avc760 will not let me log in, the nic light is on and flashing rapidly nonstop so it seems its trying to talk to something but im not sure what as my network is quiet. It sits behind a Fedora box forwarded through a very odd port number and again it works just fine most of the time. When this happens all I can do is power down the AVC760 and restart it. That wont be a good option for my customers so if anyone has seen this please advise, or I will eat this I suppose and buy up...

Great site, thank you all for your posts.

I truely do not know what is happening!

I do not have any experience with a Fedora Box.

I have seen this problem that you are having, and it has been resoved by replacing the router.

I do not know if this will work in your case though.

Thanks for taking the time scorpion to reply, I should note, that when it drops I can still ping the ip, however even switching to a x-over cable and a laptop, (removing it from the network alltogther) I still cannot connect. Im just not clear what it takes to lock these up yet so I dont know how to stop it. Do you see this with the other Avtech boxes or just the AVC760? Im thinking it must be the network chip used, hehe, I would change it if I could... :>

Oh well thanks again,

Gary...

I am not there to take a look, so I truely cannot say.

It sounds like you have an individual machine problem. Is it under warranty? Can you take it back?