JustinCase

12v power for multiple cameras

I'm new to the CCTV scene so please bare with me.

I'd like to get a 12v power supply that can power several cameras (3 to 6). I've only seen the ones that power a single camera.

Is there a multiple camera power supply produced?

If so where can I pick one up?

Thanks.

I'm new to the CCTV scene so please bare with me.

I'd like to get a 12v power supply that can power several cameras (3 to 6). I've only seen the ones that power a single camera.

Is there a multiple camera power supply produced?

If so where can I pick one up?

Thanks.

Be prepared before buying! First assure that the supply has fully regulated outputs. Check the total current output of the supply to assure that you will have enough to go around. Some I/R cameras are hungry and you need to have the current available per output that will handle the draw. I would think that a total of eight amps total output, and at least 1.5 amps available at each output would give you room for six cameras of varying draw. I would recommend that the outputs should be fused, not auto reset devices (PIDs). The fuse is faster to respond and is better short protection. Fuses also give you the option to tailor current output to each camera. And finally, plug the supply into a surge protected UPS.

Dc-9 power supplies like this?

[edit by mod-store link removed]

79475_1.gif

They are regulated but not a 1.5amp per, (only 1amp per) but are fused.

Thanks,

John

Dc-9 power supplies like this?

[edit by mod-store link removed]

They are regulated but not a 1.5amp per, (only 1amp per) but are fused.

Thanks,

John

They would not be able to handle a high-power IR camera. Some of them draw as much as 1.5A per camera. There are other manufacturers who make higher capacity 12VDC power supplies:

Altronix ALTV615DC616UL - 16 outputs, 6A total, 3.5A per output - http://www.altronix.com/index.php?pid=2&model_num=ALTV615DC616UL