Jaguar280

Burglary! Systems changes needed quick!

Hello everyone,

i'm fairly new to the forum but i've been a user of geovision for a while. there was recently a burglary at one of the locations i installed cameras at for my parents. luckily, they didn't get much but it makes think about how i need to make the system better. we installed these cameras to watch the customers and protect ourselves against the average burglars but these guys had to know what they were doing.

the system is setup so that when the computers start up, geovision automatically logs in so that no one has to start the software and it automatically begins recording. what happened was since the software was already started,, and the computers were recording... the burglars accessed the software and deleted the recordings from that day. they then turned the computers off to stop further recordings.

what i need to think about now is how to prevent something like this from happening again. i have some experience with geovision software but i'm not an expert. i was thinking there must be some sort of way to keep people from deleting the files. is there a way we can record files off-site or maybe through a network? this time we were lucky they deleted the files because the probably would have taken the computers and in that case any on-site recordings would have been compromised.

does anyone have any experience with these types of situations that could offer help? i'm hoping for a quick and easy solution (most importantly not too expensive) that would allow us to retain our records even if someone went to the extent of stealing the computer.

i appreciate your help!

Thank you!

Thats some smart guys you had visiting, sure it wasn't dad?

1. Lock the DVR in a lock box.

2. Create a limited user account in GV with permissions set to nothing and use this account for auto login. This is what we do almost always. when client wants to search/edit config he needs to login with the admin account.