Scruit

Getting divorced... from CPCam

I've been doing CCTV stuff at my house for about 8 years now, ever since someone broke into my house. In that time I've had many iterations of the DVR itself. I've had a CPCam CPD576W - nice enough unit but very low frame rate (9 channels, 25fps max). I liked it's cheap reliable simplicity so much I bought a bunch of CPCam bullet IR cameras too.

As part of normal expansion a few years later I replaced the 576W with a 507HC (16ch, 120fps max). The 507HC has not been a reliable DVR at all. The network function fails on a random basis and requires a reboot of the DVR. If you fast-forward through the playback in 16ch display for more than a couple of minutes (looking for footage) then it craps out with a system error that translates to "All video chips failed". It will randomly "brick" (stop functioning completely and have to be unplugged for several minutes before it will fire up again.)

But more than this, my problem has been the level of support I get from CPCam. The vendor I bought it from (online CCTV shop) referred me to CPCam for support, and CPCam's support is, well, do they even have a support department? Online support is a mail form that has never been replied to despite several attempts on my part. I managed to track down a human being in California and when I asked for support I was asked fro my phone number for a callback. I'm sure you know how that went.

I did speak with a guy from CPCam in New York who was pretty knowledgeable about the device's functionality and was able to explain some of the idiosyncrasies but was unable to help with the problems. And so they remain. After a recent run of network failures, culminating with the DVR bricking right in front of my eyes as I was talking with my wife about replacing the DVR, we pretty much decided that the DVR was more trouble than it's worth and I'd rather unplug and forget it rather than spend time every day babying it.