better_vetter

Speco HTINTB8 versus Nuvico CB-HDE21N-L

Hello CCTV pro's. I'm a newbie to this forum and I can't find this exact question/answer anywhere on the web. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I am an owner's rep currently looking at two different security system providers. They both claim their cameras are better and I'm looking to get an opinion from an independent source. The cameras in question are the Speco HTINTB8 and the Nuvico CB-HDE21N-L.

Specs for both cameras below.

Thanks for your time.

Speco:

http://www.specotechnologies.com/cart/products/downloads/specs/HTINTB8910.pdf

Nuvico:

http://www.nuvico.com/downloadfile.htm?id=297

I personally dont like using IR LED cams for outdoor use so I would prefer the Speco for outdoor use and the nuvico for indoor.

Or use the Speco indoors also with IR illuminators.

I personally dont like using IR LED cams for outdoor use so I would prefer the Speco for outdoor use and the nuvico for indoor.

Or use the Speco indoors also with IR illuminators.

Thanks for the response. Would you mind telling me why you don't like using IR LED cameras outside? Is it a resolution issue?

From the specs, seems the speco uses DSS which slows down the video to achieve better sensitivity under low light, a feature I stay far away from. Ive used another nuvico true day night IR camera before and it was okay but ive used better ones for much less, eg. the CNB and even the Eclipse models. Speco are normally way overpriced as well, I used them for several years when I first started out, they had some good cameras back then. Basically they are both rebadged American brands imported from Asia, so you are paying extra for the name, possibly a longer warranty in the US.

If you have alot of light go with a Color only camera, and definately no DSS.