Arkilae

DIY Kit solution for a small business possible?

Hello, new here, as you can see and I need some help with a CCTV DIY job. If this is in the wrong section I apologize.

First off I have zero experience with installing CCTV systems, the client I am working for is asking me to do the job because he does not want to pay an exorbitant amount as he did before for his first CCTV system. Chiefly he is looking at DIY kits from the likes of Costco etc. for his small business. He has tasked me with this job because I am his usual tech guy for his computer systems and I said I could do it, possibly a mistake but this is part of my job, I work for him.

I also had to solve some software related issues with the previous CCTV system because the guys who he contracted for the job left him without some features working such as remote viewing and some video feed problems. Obviously if we decide on a DIY kit it will come with instructions and most of the equipment but as with all things not all the information you need or the equipment can be provided if you run in to problems or small issues.

On to some questions.

1. Since I will be installing this in a small business location, the ceiling panels are going to be tiled. Is there any thing I should know about these panels and what it is like to work with them while installing a camera and wiring?

2. He wants an eight camera system for his 1400 SQFT location one in the back, one in the front (those two being out doors) and the rest inside. The location is about 60-70 feet deep, would 80 feet of cabling cover it?

3. Is there any thing I should know about the electrical cables for the cameras? I have researched that most of these systems have a small power supply unit, which is a box which you connect the cameras power cables in to, and then to a wall socket, is there any thing else?