Sign in to follow this  
rovermedia

Dvr through PC with 4g usb device?

Greetings all. I'm new to the cctv world and in need of help (and patience). Looking to remote access my dvr. I have the computer connected to internet via 4G USB device. No router. My question: how do I configure my DVR and PC to allow remote access to system? is this even possible? eveything i've researched points to the router configuration to open the ports. But if i don't have a router.....I've connected the DVR to my PC with an ethernet cable in an attempt to set up a VPN. Would remote desktop allow me to set this up?

THanks for the replies

I'm running XP home edition

You are trying to set up a VPN on an internal network? You must have a switch or router or modem or something somewhere? You are going to have a hard time keeping track of an IP address with a 4G stick. How does your pc get a network connection?

To access from the outside you have to port forward to the machine that you are trying to access, and Im going to assume you have a dynamic IP address which means you will need DDNS to keep track of it for you or to tie it to a URL or something.

When you say VPN I think you mean a bridged connection? Can you explain your setup a little more, why not just plug the DVR into an ethernet port, or does it not have one in which case I doubt it will support the 4G USB card.

Can you explain a little more and I will try to sort it out for you? It is completely doable just need more info.

Hi I'm attempting to do the exact same thing with my setup. I have a 4g usb which has a static IP address. trying to connect my work PC and DVR through the ethernet ports to be able to view my cameras remotely. When I connect the ethernet cables (crossover cat 6) the computer tells me "more than one connection is not supported" I'm also running XP home edition which I was told does not have the remote access feature needed to complete this type of setup. Any information will be greatly appreciated.