shockwave199

Be real- Hobby? Necessity? Or both?

It's an interesting thing, and something people new to this who are thinking about a cctv setup should consider. I'm new to the whole thing- if you consider the total time invested. It's about four months. I took almost a month to shop, read, study, and formulate a plan- and with that I made mistakes. The past three months have been installing, tweaking, replacing poor cameras, tweaking, and just plain survielling my exterior eight channel system each night- the bulk of my need. It's a chunk of money, first off. Hobby or not- be prepaired to spend at least 1,200 bucks for an eight channel system- and that's budget gear. And a TON of sweat-equity. Wires don't run themselves and cameras don't hang themselves. WORK, man.

I started out feeling I had a serious need to even get invloved in all this. Working overnight and leaving my home and family on their own, coupled with my ability to actually watch my camera system all night, was enough for me to conclude it's time- buy, install, watch. Long about the first time you get a camera setup and watch it, you become hooked. It takes on the form of a hobby. You see other peoples gear- you get motivated to upgrade. You get four cameras installed and you love the array of footage you now have- you want another four. It's fun! It's at times funny to watch too. It's genuinely fun to be into this. And rewarding too. Ater all, when you setup a whole system yourself and sit back and watch your work, it's rewarding think- 'I' did that. All good- fun.