nscherneck

Network video design with fiber optic

Hi all,

I'm somewhat new to network video and have an application that I'd like opinions on. We're designing a campus video security system with fixed cameras throughout parking areas. We're involved in the design stage and are being asked to design the infrastructure. We've been asked to design using a separate physical network. We have four IDF locations each having 6-10 cameras homerun with fiber optic. Average distance is 500' for each camera. Questions:

1. Use multi-mode or single-mode fiber?

2. In the IDF, would you use media converters (FO-Ethernet) and patch in to an Ethernet switch or do away with the media converters and go straight to a fiber-ready switch (GBIC cards?).

3. Should we use fiber optic termination enclosures before patching in to media converters or fiber-ready switches?

Thanks in advance.

NS

Hi all,

I'm somewhat new to network video and have an application that I'd like opinions on. We're designing a campus video security system with fixed cameras throughout parking areas. We're involved in the design stage and are being asked to design the infrastructure. We've been asked to design using a separate physical network. We have four IDF locations each having 6-10 cameras homerun with fiber optic. Average distance is 500' for each camera. Questions:

1. Use multi-mode or single-mode fiber?

2. In the IDF, would you use media converters (FO-Ethernet) and patch in to an Ethernet switch or do away with the media converters and go straight to a fiber-ready switch (GBIC cards?).

3. Should we use fiber optic termination enclosures before patching in to media converters or fiber-ready switches?

Thanks in advance.

NS

(1) either type of cable will work at that distance, but more people are moving towards single-mode, due to it's higher capacity for expansion later (higher data rates)-although multimode is more forgiving when terminating, and multimode equipment is slightly cheaper.