ctbaker

Can't directly connect to Hikvision cameras connected to NVR

Hi,

I am just beginning to play around with a Hikvision setup. I am running one of the 3mp Hikvision bullets connected to a Hikvision NVR. The NVR auto-detects the camera and I can connect to the NVR from my main home computer (on the same network) but I cannot connect via web browser to the camera that is plugged in to the NVR. It looks like I get a lot more camera setting adjustments if I can connect to the camera directly.

I am running on a 192.168.1.x LAN IP block. The NVR configures itself when I check for it to use the router's DHCP server and assigns an IP address to the camera but I can't ping the camera IP address. Also, if I try to ping the IP address of where the camera is supposedly at I get "Destination host unreachable"

Any ideas?

UPDATE: I installed and ran the Hikvision SADP software and it only sees the NVR. Does this mean that the only way to connect directly to the cameras is to use a POE injector so I can power the camera outside of the NVR? If I did that, can I make all the camera specific adjustments and then hook it back into the NVR? Not elegant but it is doable I suppose.

Thanks!

Chad

Edited by Guest

Hi. if you run camera into switch first them manual set in NVR then you will have both options.

this is the problem with using built in POE ports

Hi,

Thanks for the reply. Can I use any switch for this or must I use a POE switch since the cameras need POE? I have a spare TRENDnet 8-Port Unmanaged Gigabit GREENnet Standard Switch laying around but it is not POE.

You are describing something like this?

CAMERA -> SWITCH -> NVR BUILT IN POE SWITCH