redalert

Question for the pros about power splitter for vcm-24vf

Hi Everyone,

Excuse the dumb questions but I am fairly new to CCTV installs. From what I've read on here the vcm-24vfs are good cameras. Soon I'm going to be installing a total of 6 vcm-24vf dome cameras. I was wondering if using a power splitter such as the one pictured will suffice or a power supply box is the way to go and why. Also if the octopus is ok does it matter if I use a 12 or 24 volt ac adapter? Thanks.

202109_1.jpg

they're actually dual-voltage cameras, so you can use 12vdc *or* 24vac or just about anything else in between. they're also very low power consumption, about 2.2w, which is barely 100ma at 24v or under 200ma at 12v, so as long as your power adapter has sufficient current for all of them, you should be fine.

And since they come with their own power connector, there is no real reason to use that sort of splitter unless you got pre-terminated cables.

And since they come with their own power connector, there is no real reason to use that sort of splitter unless you got pre-terminated cables.

How do you mean? I have to provide power to them somehow I'm talking about near the dvr. I was planning on using Siamese cable and addding the correct pigtail (male/female) on each end of the power portion of the siamese then using the octopus to plug into an outlet somewhere near the dvr.

The camera end has screw terminals for power. Just splice a pigtail onto tbe dvr end of the siamese.