paul31

New career CCTV installer

hi,

I work in IT, but i am looking to get out of it. i work for a small company, mainly do small business, repairs, small networks, schools etc. the money is very poor and i need a change, from speaking to some people they say that the pay is pretty ok in CCTV.I am thinking of doing a CCTV course here in Ireland, and was wondering after I finish it would companies consider me for employment, or would i need to spend more time learning etc. Also I have a ceft in electronics and comptuters 2 years like a hnd in the uk , I am 31 and have 5 years IT experience. would this help me more with looking for work in this field?

thanks

Paul

Hey, who told you they pay is Good and were is this person?

I thought you IT Boys had the Mansion / Bentley / Girls on each arm !

Seriously thought, If you do a CCTV course this will certainly help and give you a grounding of the basics. Problem in the UK is that most security companies are desperate for installers that are multi skilled e.g they can install CCTV, Intruder Alarms and Access Control. A better option would be to sub contract to various companies, you are more likley to get CCTV work that way.

One thing in your favor is new developments in CCTV, especially Networked Cameras and Recorders, you would be surprised the amount of people that are good with analoge CCTV but stumble when it comes to Network configuration. Perhaps you should could persuade your current employers to offer simple networked CCTV, this way you can gain experience whilst getting payed!

There are some very good threads that are worth reading and experienced people on this Forum that are always willing to help.

Good Luck