ukrik

Consider using Avermedia?? think twise !!!

Hello,

I would like to be honest with you and want to say a few things I've experienced with Avermedia cards. My review is based on the product quality and design.

First of all, my background is CCTV technician and in this field trust me, you learn a lot of things when it comes to video surveillance aspects. Currently i am doing research and trying to find a good video surveillance DVR system, and what i mean by that is: branded, reliable, user friendly, with good video streaming quality, recording, and of course with warranty and technical support.

My projects are from big to small meaning could be from 8 to 24 cameras.

I came across Avermedia and got really excited about the product, i even bought a card to test NV 5000 120fps and really liked it until I ran into a problem which almost cost me to loose a $20,000 project. Please read my previous post about NV5000 2 cards issue.

To make a long story short i would like to point out a few things about the software application, when it comes to real testing. I will start from:

INSTALLATION. (NV5000 120 fps) Windows XP

There is no real description on how to do installation, the manual that comes with it just describes the software features and buttons.

1. Do not install drivers right away, there is a bug in the driver files itself, it would look like you installed everything, but then it uninstalls itself and keeps asking to install drivers again and again. Try to install the program from running the software first, but be careful, the drivers sometimes are missing from the cd for specific cards, just like NV 5000. So the best thing to download them from the Avermedia website.

FEATURES

2. Overall not bad, just the stupid “password confirmationâ€