barrameh

Choosing a DVR .!!

Hi there,

Can anyone please tell me how can I know what type of DVR to choose; PC-based or Embedded DVR?

I'm very new to all of this.. so can you please give me the ground rules if any..

Thanks..

What kind of application are you doing? Retail, home or small bussiness? 4,8, or 16 cameras?

Well we are in the process of forming our security applications department in our company, so we need it for demos and proof of concept. So we were thinking of getting 4 and 8 channels devices, would that help us in our testing or no need for many devices?

Thanks

You didn't really answer my question. What is the focus of the system going to be? Will there be live monitoring? Is it retail? Is it a wharehouse? External or internal thief? Large objects or small objects?

Ooh sorry for that.

Well, it'll be focusing on live monitoring + taking snap shots and images for moving object especially cars entering parking area.

did that help.?

Thanks

Not to be answering for Thomas but "No, not really" (though it's a step in the right direction). Lots of different considerations, features (and potential drawbacks) to both approaches - dependent entirely upon what you're doing. In fact far too many to list so since you're lookin' for some help (which we all want to give you)... SPILL YOUR GUTS (I mean if it ain't top secret tell us exactly what you are looking to do, why, where, when and for whom - - everythng you can think of - - even trivial details. It will help us help you!). Otherwise well be going back and forth for the next week or two trying to squeeze details outta ya and that's not real productive.

It helps a little bit. With live monitoring are we talking about 24/7 Security guards or periodic checks? Are you aiming more for physical security or anti-thieft monitoring?

Ideally if you could write up six or seven paragraphs with your goals, needs and wants it really would help alot.