ayalas

New to cat 5 any advice?

Hello partners.Im truly new to working with cat 5 cables i just received a roll of it to replace some rg-59 now my question is i have 4 cams with about 20 feet distance from each other and the dvr is about 200 feet away.How do i connect these 4 cams to run throw the cat 5 i mean when i get to the first cam and used two of the wires how do i get the the other cams connected?do i keep running the remaining six wires to the next ones or do i do i throw in a new cat 5 cable to the next one ?I dont know if im explaining my self right like i said im new to this any help please.my thanks ahead of time.

Theres a couple of options I can think of, the first is to run the cat5 the 200 feet to a junction box, then run individual cables from that box to each camera.

The second is to have a the cable go into a small junction box near each camera, take out the two wires you need and run through the rest of the cable to the next box.

The first option is a lot neater, and has the benefit that if any cable to any single camera is cut / chew / snapped etc then the other three will be unaffected.

ok. i like the first option but the resond my client wants the cat 5 cable is so we can run the 4 cams thru a single cable and use less cable.yes i do have the baluns but only one box and thats the one i put in next to the dvr (200 feet away) were im confused is in the other end were the cams are.would i have to put a second box near the cams and run a cable to each cam from that secound box?

You need a pair of baluns (one at each end of the cable) for each camera.

(unless your camera has a twisted pair balun compatible output, which is rare, but can be purchased)

Or a box with multiple baluns in, at each end of the cable.