I've been building computers for many years now. I can honestly tell you that Seagate drives are the most reliable. (From my experience).

Western Digitals are ok, but I've replaced a few. If you get a Western Digital, only get their Raptor series. Maxtors are Junk. Hitachi's/IBM's are Junk.

Seagate does have a 5 year warranty as well, but more importantly... I've never had to warranty one.

Is the price Premium worth it for the DVR specific Seagate Hds (SV35, DB35 series) compared to their Desktop Hard Drives?

Their website states that their DB35 and SV35 Series hard drives are meant for DVR applications and are "optimized". My exprience is that it does not matter. We have tons of their ST3750640AS Drvies and no problems yet-- and these things get written with TB's of data every day.

If you want you can buy the more expensive ones, but data is data and for $280 you can a 750GB 7200RPM w 16MB Cache (Regular) Seagate drive that will work just fine.

Never even saw those before, will take a look .. dont know if the PC retailers sell them though?

They claim less heat though, but speed wise it looks the same, plus that will depend on the Bios settings as well as Windows anyway, among other factors.

Anyone here tested them yet?

I have been installing DVR's for a while now, and I agree with the first person that Seagate seems to be the more superior. I have changed out quite a few hard drives and I dont believe one was a Seagate.

Jay

AACOM Inc

i like western digital,, have been using the 500GB drives since they came out and no problems and my older systems out there (3years or so) have been 120 and 220GB wd drives and no issues so far

havent used seagate

Spoke to a seagate rep about the difference of those SV drives and their normal barracuda series. He told me that the drives are optimized for 24x 7 operation, increased throughput for writing, spin down feature when not in use

also there is no error correction on these drives