megavolt512

Need to get mjpeg video off Nuvico DVR....

Newly installed Nuvico NVJV-4000n - with mjpeg compression (according to the Nuvico docs).

System has worked! I have footage of the "problem" we were plagued with. Now I need to give the police a CD with the video on it.

What to do now? When I use the download feature on the Nuvico software I get a file with a .CMS suffix. Their literature says the NVJV series uses MJPEG compression. I've tried a couple of shareware utilites to try and read (and convert) this CMS file... but none recognize it as MJPEG.

Any ideas? If I can't send this to the police, it's virtually worthless.

I'm not familiar with Nuvico but most dvr's have a usb port that you can plug in a stick into to download your file to. The dvr will download the client viewer software automatically, so you can view it.

I work in the computer field, but have been doing alot of research on dvr's and it seems to me that you can only view the video through the software they provide.

The .CMS file is a Content Management System extension. I haven't looked but there may be some type of plugin to view it in other viewers.

Also, short of giving them the DVR software to play it back with, you could play it back on your PC and use something like Cam Studio to record the screen, save that as an AVI file and send that to them.

I havent used the Nuvico DVRs yet so cant say anything more on that.

Most PC based DVRs will give you options such as what you require, or record direct to AVI (still requiring minor conversion or codecs on their PC), but seems Stand alone Non PC DVRs typically are a lot more difficult in this regard.

To summarize the responses, yes you have two options

1) Do as Rory said, use Camtasia screen capture program to allow you to play on any computer via windows media player