bigdavelamb

DVR Integration

Hi, I am new to the forum and fairly new to CCTV. I am a software developer and I have been asked to develop some software that stores images of vehicles by number plate. I thought the best method maybe to use a standard DVR to store the images captured by the cameras, then retrieve the images on the DVR and use a 3rd party application to query the images and pull the number plates, basically a client will give me a number plate I then need to be able to retrieve the image from the DVR. To be a bit clearer, a vehicle will stop at our stop sign, pictures will be taken of the vehicle so I will have a consist image of each vehicle.

Does anyone have any suggestions on methodologies on this?

Thanks in advance for any pointers!

Dave

Hi there, thanks for that, I have been looking at the Geovision product, unfortunately I would have to use their software which does not run as a windows service it runs as a standard application, which is not ideal, do you know of any other products?

Dave

Hi there, thanks for that, I have been looking at the Geovision product, unfortunately I would have to use their software which does not run as a windows service it runs as a standard application, which is not ideal, do you know of any other products?

Dave

Why do you want it to run as a service?

We are supplying boxed solutions to clients, which also will have our own bespoke software which does some additional stuff, I cannot supply clients with a Windows server running applications as it looks unprofessional.

Nope. From what you describe, using dvr to store images and then use ur box to pull them out won't be a good solution imho.

You'll be better off implementing some frame capturing hardware.

IF you use DVR, it'll be hard to determine which frame has the license plate on it.