techmob

i am new to this but looking for advice on a pc based system

Hi all

been reading through this site as a guest for a while now, but thought it was time i registered and posted

i have a decent pc, which has an intel dual core E6600 cpu, and 2gb of ddr2 pc800 dual channel ram, plenty of hardrive space etc, so it's just a matter of adding a dvr pci card to it

i want a dvr system which can support atleast two cameras, with monitoring and live recording, motion detection etc etc, i have a widescreen lcd 19" and would like the software to support 1440x900 resulotions or something similar

i bought a system off ebay - cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=200141158784&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=010

but it forced me to run my display resolution at 1024x768 or it would refuse to run, so i sent it back for a refund

hence my quest for the ideal system

what sort of prices am i looking at for a 2 camera system, which has some nice software

i need one with decent enough software as i think this is an important part to the system?

i am from the uk

what sort of money are we looking at, for a dvr card, software , 2 night vision cameras and cables/connections

is there a certain FPS one i should be looking for?

i don't need more than 4 cameras, defenatly not, and 2 would do most likely

so i would only need a decent enough card to handly 2 cameras at a decent FPS, and what is the max FPS channel i should be looking for 25-30?

i think the main thing for me to get right at the moment, is the software and pci card

any advice, i am still learning

thanks