View unanswered posts | View active topics


Reply to topic  [ 63 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2014 8:24 pm 
Registered User

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 4

Offline
msecure wrote:
tonesmith wrote:
Very informative thread.

"Q-See actually has HDCVI system and it is sold at costco.com and they called it HD Analog system. The 8 cameras system 720P sold for 499.00 (Item #865574). The quality is pretty good and they have a video sample at costco.com too.
Here is the video sample link of the Q-See HD analog system
http://media.webcollage.net/rwvfp/wc/cp ... .flash.flv"



Well I purchased this system and I am pleased so far with the picture quality during the day of the cameras, however the night picture quality of the dome cameras are not as good as the bullet cams.

The model number of the dome camera is: QCA7202D

It is very noisy and I cant get the contrast right at night time. All the cameras have a fixed focal length of 3.6mm, 70-75 view angle so thats kinda of a bummer, would have rather had a mix of wide and tele. Im not sure if I am going to keep the system, still installing cameras at the moment. I found this thread searching for other "HD Analog" cameras and now I realize its a proprietary standard from this Daihau company, HDCVI. Perhaps I can find some other non Q-see cameras that provide a wider field of view, as thats what I really need/want for my porch.

Any one have any suggestions?

Get a varifocal IR dome with led array, the tiny LEDs on dahua little dome sucks!


Thanks for the suggestions, but can you provide me a model to look at or perhaps a link? :)

I found this site, they seem to have quite a few compatible cameras.
Well, it seems I cant post links? I was going to point to the dome cameras on the securitycameraking dot com website..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2014 10:46 pm 
Registered User

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 313

Offline
tonesmith wrote:
SunnyKim wrote:
HD-CVI can not be used for a long distance over 50 Meter, if not for pure copper cable. But they keep claiming "upto 500 meter", in spite of the fact losing some colors. Some seem to cheat on others. We better wait for the technology getting matured, in my opinion.


I have no need for longer runs, it's for my home. To me, the distance issue is irrelevant.

So far none of the retrofit demo I have tested fail using the CVI. Even those without signal on SDI is perfect using CVI. Btw, 500m SDI camera will be ready soon.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2014 11:57 pm 
User avatar
Registered User

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 2222
Location: New York

Offline
Is plug and play cable okay to use for cvi? I understand good rg59 coax is preferred but cvi is always touted as the easy replacement for your analog system. Many people, including me, used plug and play cables years ago. Most of my runs are 60-75' tops. Usable?

_________________
My DIY Residential System Videos


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 1:05 am 
Registered User

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 313

Offline
shockwave199 wrote:
Is plug and play cable okay to use for cvi? I understand good rg59 coax is preferred but cvi is always touted as the easy replacement for your analog system. Many people, including me, used plug and play cables years ago. Most of my runs are 60-75' tops. Usable?

So far my experience is if the analog has signal the cvi will have no problem but none of those are DIY. Guess you will need to buy from those shops that allows return. For testing purpose I will test it out later today. I am in cctv haven now! Everything can be found here! Shenzhen!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 3:19 am 
Registered User

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 313

Offline
shockwave199 wrote:
Is plug and play cable okay to use for cvi? I understand good rg59 coax is preferred but cvi is always touted as the easy replacement for your analog system. Many people, including me, used plug and play cables years ago. Most of my runs are 60-75' tops. Usable?

Here is the answer, no problem with a 50 meter run =D>


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. Please sign-in or register to view or download.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 4:18 am 
User avatar
Registered User

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 2222
Location: New York

Offline
What exactly are you showing? What would be something to see is a snapshot export from actual footage to see what it's looking like.

_________________
My DIY Residential System Videos


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 4:24 am 
Registered User

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 313

Offline
shockwave199 wrote:
What exactly are you showing? What would be something to see is a snapshot export from actual footage to see what it's looking like.

I tested a CVI camera with a 50 meter roll standard cable with a CVI DVR and it works perfectly. No degradation of the resolution at all.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 1:19 pm 
User avatar
Registered User

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 2222
Location: New York

Offline
Cool. There have been conflicting reports about using plug and play cables. Any images from footage would be great. Even video clips. Thanks!

_________________
My DIY Residential System Videos


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 10:20 pm 
Registered User

Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 377
Location: NJ

Offline
msecure wrote:
shockwave199 wrote:
Is plug and play cable okay to use for cvi? I understand good rg59 coax is preferred but cvi is always touted as the easy replacement for your analog system. Many people, including me, used plug and play cables years ago. Most of my runs are 60-75' tops. Usable?

So far my experience is if the analog has signal the cvi will have no problem but none of those are DIY. Guess you will need to buy from those shops that allows return. For testing purpose I will test it out later today. I am in cctv haven now! Everything can be found here! Shenzhen!


Try the roast duck (or I think they use goose) in Shenzhen!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 11:25 pm 
Registered User

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 873

Offline
Dear Msecure,

Is HD-CVI for 720P (1.3 MP) that can run 50 meter on a good copper cable?
Can you please confirm?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 11:52 pm 
Registered User

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 313

Offline
SunnyKim wrote:
Dear Msecure,

Is HD-CVI for 720P (1.3 MP) that can run 50 meter on a good copper cable?
Can you please confirm?

It is 500 not 50 meter. But furthest I have tested is about 350 meter on Belden RG6 CCS.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Is HDCVI digital or analog?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 1:03 am 
Registered User

Joined: May 2008
Posts: 29

Offline
Is the HDCVI signal digital (like DVI/HDMI) or is it analog (like VGA/Component, CVBS, S-Video)?

Is the picture degradation due to increasing length / interference gradual?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 3:48 am 
Registered User

Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 492

Offline
Another one tricky demo footage. Actually, for most CMOS in house is great to view but I wondering how is outdoor particularly in low lux site


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 8:36 am 
Registered User

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 313

Offline
joseph.chen0312 wrote:
Another one tricky demo footage. Actually, for most CMOS in house is great to view but I wondering how is outdoor particularly in low lux site

Well, with the Sony Exmor IMX238 for 1.3Mp & IMX222 for 1080p, the quality is quite good in low lux.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

  
 Post subject: Re: HDCVI video
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 12:44 am 
Registered User

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 19

Offline
I am installing an HD-CVI 960p system on my property (business) and I have cable runs that go up to 200 meters. I want to know if I can get by using rg59 (solid copper, high quality, direct burial - something I already have) or if I will be better served by rg6 (same quality as rg59).
Essentially, I am asking if I stand to gain anything in the way of image quality by using rg6 at that distance. OR, at what distance would rg6 make a difference in image quality - assuming all cables are high quality, solid copper?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 63 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

It is currently Mon Jan 23, 2017 3:33 am

The contents of this webpage are copyright © 2003-2016 CCTVForum.com. All Rights Reserved.