MiamiRob

Requesting Comments on Security Cameras for Condo

I am on the Board of my condo. We are installing a new security system. We will spend about $350,000. I am writing to request comments on the cameras that the security company has proprosed. We have not finalized the design so changes can be made. (The system will also include access control.)

I work in the technnology field for a large corporation and I am experienced in designing and installing local and wide-area infrastructure for large office towers and other types of buildings and managing the installation of those systems. However, I have never been involved with security system design and I am trying to educate myself quickly.

The company is suggesting the follow cameras:

9 of Sa-SCC 4301 Hi Powered Zoom, $320 each

13 of Speco CVC 650 IRVF Dome, $320 each

13 of Speco CVC 650 IRVF Dome Wall Camera Mount, $80 each

13 of Speco CVC 6700, $320 each

12 of Everfocus EPTZ 1000, $1,560 each

12 of Everfocus EPTZ 1000 Wall Camera Mount, $104 each

5 of Speco CVC - 60, $336 each (for elevators)

I realize that without seeing a plan of our four-acre property, no one can determine if the quantities and types of cameras are correct. I am seeking general comments about the quality of the cameras. I am concerned that they are possibly not so great. I have tried to find discussions about speco on this and other forums but I can't see to find any. I would be eager to hear recommendations for other camera brands.