NOLA

New Guy Question

Hello all. I'm new to the CCTV field, I just recently got a job at a large hotel fixing/updating their surv. system. All in all, everything has been going well. Untill today that is.

I just installed a new camera for them, and am having some issues. On the monitor the picture intermintantly blacks out and turns to a fuzzy picture. It then blacks out, then comes back. It almost looks like it is getting turned off and back on.

The power is good. Is using a resettable transformer right above the camera in the ceiling.

The line and connectors are good. I just ran the line yesterday and did the connectors. It is only about a 30 foot run.

I have tried a new camera as well as a new lense, but the problem remains. Any quick advice from people with more experiance than me?

And thank you all for the wealth of information I have found on this forum so far.

What is the camera mounted on?

What's the voltage of camera?

Is it being powered from the same source as DVR?

Lastely, have you tried different ports of the DVR, and are they working OK?

Camera is mounted to a wall on a little metal bracket. About as basic as it can be.

24V Camera, not from same source as the DVR, is in the next room over.

I have tried different ports, sadly it was the same.

and, try the camera connected directly into the DVR............if it still wacks out then you know it is a camera problem.

r u sure the power is GOOD? test with a multimeter.

Have tried the camera plugged in from a differant area and it works fine. Also swapped it out with a known good one just because I was running out of ideas.

I checked the power before I installed in this location, the outlet I used was around 117v, and I was getting just over 24v off of the transformer.

Could the power be flucuating maybe? When I get in to work today I think I'll try plugging it in a differant outlet for a while and see if it still happens.

Thanks for the tips guys.