Karen Love

Any tricks to getting a nice focus?

Hey guys, when I set my variable focus lens on three different cameras and the adgust the focus, it seems to be super sensitive. I mean you have al this "travel" of blurr and then Bam! it's focused, so you let go but it moves just a tiny tiny bit and it's slightly out of focus. Or you spend the time moving the lever or wheel within it's miniscule focus range to get it perfect but then when you tighten the lock it's slightly "not perfect". I know trial and error but the reason I start playing with the focus is because over time the pictures seem to be slightly out.

Any thoughts or is the answer...trial and error and be careful when you tighten the lock

I'm not a professional, just a home user.

I have a 7" LCD screen that I carry with me when I adjust camera aim. I use this for initial focus adjustment.

For precise focus adjustment, I hook up the camera to a portable TV that I take outside with me. It's a PITA, especially in the sun, but gives a better result. I also put something in shot at the distance I want to focus on. An old license plate sometimes works but can be a little small. This gives me a better idea of when I'm at best focus.

i use a portable totevision 4" monitor when i'm up in the air on the scissorlift adjusting cameras solo, it actually has pretty decent resolution for doing final focusing as long as the backround lighting isn't high.. otherwise we do it by cell phone, with me adjusting the camera taking orders from whomever is down by the monitors at the time.

from your description of the problem you're having, i'm guessing that you need to reduce the focal length of your lenses so that you can maintain focus at and beyond infinity, so that your focus won't have to be so precise and sensitive. there may be a more technical description for it, but for now it's just my observation