jonesk

power over coax?

Gentlemen,

I have a customer looking to install 4 cctv systems in 4 different locations. Each system will have 4 cams (PTZ) and a dvr. I have access to watchnet, extreme and Bosch. The problem in this system is the stores have already been prewired, but the guy who did it only pulled an RG-6 and 22/2 to each cam location. No way to pull or fish any more wires without serious damage.

Anyone have any cost effective solutions to run either power and video over coax or control and video over coax?

Thanks

DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME!

I AM AN UNTRAINED AMATURE BEGINNER WITH NO YEARS OF COLLEGE TRAINING.

TINKERER BEWARE!!!!!

This is not pointed to the person who posted this, and is only said to those who come here from a search engine.

OK! enought of the legalese!

Using the ground of the coax you now can use the two conductor as two separte wires.

Only you can tell if this will work for you. If you do not have an electronice background then do not attempt this at all!!!!

Ask someone to help you.

With the red wire make this your +, and the coax braid your -.

With the black wire make this your data +.

This probably will not work if the RS232 needs to have a "floating" ground.

If the RS232 works with the - tied to the coax ground then you are good to go.

If you are not electronically oriented then do NOT PUT THE 12 VOLTS + ON THE COAX BRAID! POOF! NOW YOU HAVE DONE IT!

What do you think?

My dad's a T.V. repairman, and he's got an awesome set of tools! I can fix it!

Spicoli Fast Times at Ridgemont High

Edited by Guest

You might be able to do that with a large electrolytic capacitor and choke at each end. This would only work with DC cameras.