ak_camguy

Why would anyone go with an analog camera system these days?

I work in IT and I have been wanting a CCTV system, but have been waiting for IP Camera's for quite some time... Now that they are reasonably affordable and much better picture quality for the $$ you spend, why would someone justify spending money on an analog system over digital? Is it purely cost?

I guess I am curious because I honestly don't understand...

I have yet to find an analog camera that gives good enough clarity of someone to help identify them if needed. I have a couple friends who still use analog systems in their business and to be honest, I don't think they would actually be able to convict anyone unless they were caught in the act and the police arrested them on site.

Here is an example of a cheap system that a few people around town run....

http://www.costco.com/Swann-8-Channel-Full-D1-Real-Time-Security-System-with-500GB-Hard-Drive-and-4-High-Resolution-Cameras.product.100028117.html

Some people honestly can't understand the difference in quality. They seem to think that if they have someone recorded there's no difference. Tons of systems out there with 8 cams and a recorder for $500 or less so they must be good, right? I just cringe when I see analog cctv footage on TV of people that the police are looking for. They can be ten or 15 feet away in good lighting and face shots can still be terrible. It can still be used to recognize people and record what they've done, but why not make the recording an order of magnitude better for a few extra bucks? I feel sorry (well, almost) for people that put in the cheapest system they can find and then end up with unusable footage when they need it the most.

Analog has been around for years .......70 years last month.

So did it's job then no reason why it still can't do its job

And dahua are just about to release a full new analog range.

" title="Applause" /> My biggest fan.